Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
Final
100 Denison
74 at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
91 Case Western Reserve
84 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
Final
57 Denison
69 vs. Emory
@ Lexington, Ky. in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
Final
45 Denison
55 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
56 Denison
69 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
Final
50 Hiram
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
Final
73 Denison
50 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
Final
53 Denison
63 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
Final
62 La Roche
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
Final
60 Denison
45 at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
Final
46 Kenyon
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
Final
43 Ohio Wesleyan
60 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
Final
78 #19 DePauw
29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
Final
76 Denison
55 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
Final
66 Denison
53 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
Final - 2OT
76 Wittenberg
78 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
Final
66 Denison
57 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
Final
47 Oberlin
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
Final
65 Wooster
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Allegheny
66 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
Final
50 Denison
58 at #19 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
Final
61 Denison
50 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Tue Feb 19
Final
53 Hiram
82 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Feb 22
7:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
@ DePauw in Greencastle, Ind. - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Second half comeback falls short at Kenyon

Lauren Hofer  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Lauren Hofer | Photo by Jace Delgado

GAMBIER, Ohio -- Denison turned in a 15-4 scoring performance in the third quarter, but the Big Red rally fell short in a 55-45 loss to Kenyon College on Wednesday evening at Tomsich Arena in Gambier, Ohio.

The Big Red were held to 25 percent shooting in the first half while the Ladies connected on 6-of-13 from three to take the first six points of the game and built a 23-17 advantage with less than six minutes to play in the second quarter.

With 3:56 remaining in the first half, a jumper from senior Valesha Province and consecutive free throws from Lauren Turner cut the KC lead to two, 23-21, but Kenyon's Jessica Gerber and Ellie Schaub tallied three of their final four threes of the half to give Denison an 11 point deficit, 34-23, entering the break.

Trailing by double-digits to open the third, Denison's Province, Zyah Beal, and Kat Williams all connected from the perimeter to help DU go on a 13-3 scoring run that tied the game at 36-36 with 4:02 remaining in the quarter. A jumper from Lauren Hofer at the 1:45 mark allowed the Big Red to outscore the Ladies 15-4 in the frame while holding Kenyon to 1-of-12 shooting from the field. Both sides entered the final period tied at 38-38.

A three-pointer from Gerber opened the scoring for Kenyon in the fourth and another bucket from Lane Davis caused Denison to take a 30 second timeout at the 7:24 mark, trailing 44-38.

A jump shot from Sharon Hull built KC's lead back to eight, but Province answered with her fourth three-pointer of the night as she cut the Denison deficit back to five, 46-41, with six minutes remaining in the contest.

Over the next 4:03 of play, the Ladies pulled away with a 7-0 run led by baskets from Schaub and Davis, along with Gerber's fourth three of the night to make it a 53-41 game with less than two minutes to play.

Turner and senior Lucy Bancone connected on buckets with time running down, but the Big Red were unable to complete the comeback as they suffered their third-straight loss to move to 2-4 on the season. The win sends Kenyon to 5-1 overall.

Province finished tied for the game-high with 14 points on 4-of-8 shooting from the perimeter while adding six rebounds. Hofer followed with a season-high 13 points on 6-of-10 from the field, and Turner and junior Alison Schafer each added four point apiece.

Paige Matijasich led the Ladies with 14 points, while Jessica Gerber added 12 points and a game-high seven assists.

Denison will return to action on Saturday, December 1 when they travel to Springfield, Ohio for a 1 p.m. matchup with Wittenberg University.