Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 10
Final
52 Denison
76 at #9 Trine
in Angola, Ind.
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
Final
100 Denison
74 at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
91 Case Western Reserve
84 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
Final
57 Denison
69 vs. Emory
@ Lexington, Ky. in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
Final
45 Denison
55 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
56 Denison
69 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
Final
50 Hiram
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
Final
73 Denison
50 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
Final
53 Denison
63 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
Final
62 La Roche
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
Final
60 Denison
45 at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
Final
46 Kenyon
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
Final
43 Ohio Wesleyan
60 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
Final
78 #19 DePauw
29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
Final
76 Denison
55 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
5:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
7:00 PM
Denison
at Miami-Middletown
in Middletown, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
6:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
View Full Schedule

DU women pull away in second half to defeat Kenyon

Alison Schafer  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Alison Schafer | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Thanks to a game-high 17 points from junior Alison Schafer, Denison women's basketball secured a 55-46 victory over Kenyon College on Thursday night at Livingston Gymnasium in Granville.

Holding the Ladies to 26 percent from the floor and outrebounding the opposition 45-37 for the night, the Big Red countered with 37 percent from the field, including 6-of-12 in the third quarter where they outscored Kenyon 16-10.

Leading KC 36-32 with 2:48 remaining in the third, a turnover by Kenyon's Kiele Anderson gave the ball back to the Big Red where Schafer found Lauren Hofer for one of her four baskets on the night to put DU in front by six with less than two minutes to play in the quarter.

Schafer capped off the third with a jumper that ended the frame on a 5-0 scoring run for Denison as they entered the fourth with a 40-32 lead.

The Big Red led by as many as 13 points in the fourth quarter and carried a 47-34 advantage with 4:39 left to play. At the 3:22 mark, KC's Paige Matijasich turned a Denison foul into two made free throws, and after Aliyah Hunter connected on a tip-in layup 14 seconds later, the ball went back to the Ladies where Ellie Schaub tallied a pair at the charity stripe to cut DU's lead to 11, 49-38, with 2:54 remaining.

On the next possession, Kenyon's Jessica Gerber stole the ball away from the Big Red and assisted Matijasich on her second three-pointer of the game, helping shrink KC's deficit to single digits, 49-41.

Leading by eight with 2:41 left in the game, Denison stayed aggressive on offense in their next possession when Addie Buzas sent a pass to Hofer in the low-post where she laid it in off the glass for her final bucket of the night.

Following a three from Grace Connery that dropped Kenyon's deficit to seven, 51-44, with less than two minutes remaining, both sides were unable to connect on their next two possessions before DU's Valesha Province was fouled with 23 seconds to play. Province buried both of her attempts and put Denison ahead by nine.

Coming out of Kenyon's 30-second timeout, Matijasich tallied her ninth point of the fourth quarter, but a pair of free throws from Zyah Beal iced the victory for the Big Red as Denison improved to 7-6 on the season and 3-2 in the NCAC. The loss dropped Kenyon to 9-5 overall and 3-3 in conference play.

Leading Kenyon for nearly 35 minutes of play, the Big Red outscored the Ladies in the paint 26-12 and capitalized on second-chance points, 22-7. Schafer led DU with 17 points on 7-of-12 shooting and 3-of-7 from three. Province and Lauren Longbrake added 11 points each, while Longbrake also chipped in a team-high nine rebounds. Hofer finished with eight points and five rebounds while Hunter posted four assists and seven boards.

Matijasich finished with a team-best 14 points and nine rebounds. Schaub tallied eight points and Connery chipped in nine.

The Big Red have won five out of their last six games and will return to Livingston Gymnasium on Saturday, January 5 when they host Ohio Wesleyan University at 1 p.m.