Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Tue Nov 12
Final
84 Denison
77 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
Final
47 Anderson (Ind.)
71 vs. Denison
@ Hermann Court in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
Final
81 Denison
75 at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio - Damon's/Hampton Inn Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Wed Nov 20
Final
50 John Carroll
67 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
7:30 PM
Denison
at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
7:30 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Women’s Basketball falls to DePauw in NCAC title game

Alison Schafer  |  Photo by Linda Striggo
Alison Schafer | Photo by Linda Striggo

GREENCASTLE, Ind. – Denison women's basketball suffered a 61-50 loss to top-seeded DePauw University on Saturday afternoon in the North Coast Athletic Conference tournament championship game held in Greencastle.

Despite opening the game with a 14-5 deficit in the first quarter, the No. 2 seeded Big Red hit their stride with 2:19 remaining in the first half when Lauren Longbrake connected on a three-point at the charity stripe. Following a Tiger turnover on the next possession, senior Lucy Bancone tallied the steal and the bucket to bring the Big Red within eight, 26-18, with 1:44 to play.

On Denison's next possession, an offensive rebound turned into a second chance for the Big Red as junior Alison Schafer took the opportunity and connected from three. Bancone and Longbrake combined for a pair of layups to end the half as DU continued to chip away and only trailed by one, 26-25, entering the break.

Following an 18-8 run for DePauw in the third, Denison's Lauren Hofer tallied five of her first six free throws of the frame and Lily Morris buried a triple to decrease the Tiger's lead to three, 44-41, at the 7:43 mark.

Back-to-back jumpers fell for Longbrake as Denison trailed by one, 46-45, with 5:45 remaining. DePauw's Maya Howard countered with consecutive buckets and Claire Keefe finished a three-point play that put the Tigers ahead by seven with 2:52 to play.

DePauw put the game away in the final three minutes of action when they scored eight of the game's final 12 points of the night to capture their third NCAC Tournament championship in the last four years.

Longbrake and Hofer tied for a game-high with 15 points each while Longbrake led the pair with nine rebounds in 18 minutes of action. Shonta Lockett followed with six points and six rebounds, and Bancone added four points and four boards.

Keefe led the way for DePauw with 15 points, which included 7-of-8 from the free throw line. Howard chipped in 12 points, five rebounds and four assists, while Hayley Cange finished with 10 points and six rebounds.

Ending the season at 18-9 overall, the Big Red finished at 12-4 in conference play while winning 14 of their last 17 games. This was Denison's second appearance in the NCAC Championship game over the last three seasons.