Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Mar 03
Final
4 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Thu Mar 07
Final
11 Rhodes
17 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 19
Final
10 Denison
14 vs. #9 Trinity (Conn.)
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Deyer 1
Wed Mar 20
Final
11 Geneseo
13 vs. Denison
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Lemon Bay HS
Fri Mar 22
Final - OT
15 #23 Rowan
16 vs. Denison
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Deyer 1
Sun Mar 31
Final
23 Denison
2 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 03
Final
17 Denison
8 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Apr 06
Final
0 Hiram
26 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 07
Final
20 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Apr 10
Final
14 Denison
6 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
Final
3 DePauw
25 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 16
Final
6 Wittenberg
25 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 17
Final
9 John Carroll
20 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 24
Final
3 Denison
17 at #8 York (Pa.)
in York, Pa.
Sat Apr 27
Final
10 Kenyon
16 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu May 02
Final
4 Oberlin
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
10 Wooster
13 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Sun May 12
Final
6 Transylvania
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 18
Final
3 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa. - NCAA Tournament 3rd Rd.
View Full Schedule

Denison overpowers Bishops

Claudia Rafi scored twice in Denison's win over Ohio Wesleyan.
Claudia Rafi scored twice in Denison's win over Ohio Wesleyan.

Denison evened its record in North Coast Athletic Conference play with a 17-5 win over Ohio Wesleyan on Friday night in Delaware, Ohio.  The Big Red scored 10 of their 17 goals in the first half and took a nine-goal lead into the intermission. 

Denison took a 3-0 lead in the first 12 minutes of the first half after two goals from Claire Ludlow and one from Leah Israel.  OWU got on the board with 14:21 to play in the half after a goal by Taylor Weis.  Two minutes later, Whitney Powel would find Erin Keller for her first score to put DU back up 4-1.

The closing six minutes of the first half is where Denison would pull away, scoring six goals from six different players during that span.

In the second half, Denison would outscore the Battling Bishops 7-4, setting the 17-5 final score.  Ten different players got in the scoring act, led by Israel's hat trick.  Ludlow, Claudia Rafi, Powel and Keller all scored two goals while Carol Allen (1 goal, 2 assists), Lizzy Pellicane (1 goal, 2 assists), Becca Jones (1 goal) and Halle Walsh (1 goal) rounded out the scoring.

Ohio Wesleyan committed 33 turnovers and that helped the Big Red win the ground ball battle 33-23.  Keller led the way with six ground balls while Melissa Weinsz and Powel each contributed four.

Laura Van Horn turned in eight saves in the cage for DU while Jordan Bernstein posted 11 saves for the Battling Bishops.  They were led in scoring by Weis and Sophia Love who both scored a pair of goals.

Denison improves to 4-5 and 1-1 in conference play while the Bishops fall to 3-7 and 0-2 in the NCAC.  The Big Red will return to action on Wednesday (April 8) when they travel to Wooster for a 7 p.m. contest.