Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu May 02
Final
4 Oberlin
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
10 Wooster
13 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Sun May 12
Final
6 Transylvania
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 18
Final
3 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa. - NCAA Tournament 3rd Rd.
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Geneseo
in Geneseo, N.Y.
Sun Feb 23
2:00 PM
Denison
at Brockport
in Brockport, N.Y.
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 04
4:30 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 16
5:00 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Wed Mar 18
5:00 PM
Stevenson
vs. Denison
@ Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Thu Mar 26
6:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 28
4:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 31
7:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 05
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 09
7:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
2:30 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 15
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sun Apr 19
1:00 PM
Denison
at Tufts
in Boston, Mass.
Tue Apr 21
5:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
12:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison overpowers Bishops

Claudia Rafi scored twice in Denison's win over Ohio Wesleyan.
Claudia Rafi scored twice in Denison's win over Ohio Wesleyan.

Denison evened its record in North Coast Athletic Conference play with a 17-5 win over Ohio Wesleyan on Friday night in Delaware, Ohio.  The Big Red scored 10 of their 17 goals in the first half and took a nine-goal lead into the intermission. 

Denison took a 3-0 lead in the first 12 minutes of the first half after two goals from Claire Ludlow and one from Leah Israel.  OWU got on the board with 14:21 to play in the half after a goal by Taylor Weis.  Two minutes later, Whitney Powel would find Erin Keller for her first score to put DU back up 4-1.

The closing six minutes of the first half is where Denison would pull away, scoring six goals from six different players during that span.

In the second half, Denison would outscore the Battling Bishops 7-4, setting the 17-5 final score.  Ten different players got in the scoring act, led by Israel's hat trick.  Ludlow, Claudia Rafi, Powel and Keller all scored two goals while Carol Allen (1 goal, 2 assists), Lizzy Pellicane (1 goal, 2 assists), Becca Jones (1 goal) and Halle Walsh (1 goal) rounded out the scoring.

Ohio Wesleyan committed 33 turnovers and that helped the Big Red win the ground ball battle 33-23.  Keller led the way with six ground balls while Melissa Weinsz and Powel each contributed four.

Laura Van Horn turned in eight saves in the cage for DU while Jordan Bernstein posted 11 saves for the Battling Bishops.  They were led in scoring by Weis and Sophia Love who both scored a pair of goals.

Denison improves to 4-5 and 1-1 in conference play while the Bishops fall to 3-7 and 0-2 in the NCAC.  The Big Red will return to action on Wednesday (April 8) when they travel to Wooster for a 7 p.m. contest.