Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Apr 24
Final
3 Denison
17 at #8 York (Pa.)
in York, Pa.
Sat Apr 27
Final
10 Kenyon
16 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu May 02
Final
4 Oberlin
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
10 Wooster
13 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Sun May 12
Final
6 Transylvania
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 18
Final
3 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa. - NCAA Tournament 3rd Rd.
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Geneseo
in Geneseo, N.Y.
Sun Feb 23
2:00 PM
Denison
at Brockport
in Brockport, N.Y.
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 04
4:30 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 16
5:00 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Wed Mar 18
5:00 PM
Stevenson
vs. Denison
@ Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Thu Mar 26
6:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 28
4:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 31
7:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 05
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 09
6:30 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
2:30 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 15
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sun Apr 19
1:00 PM
Denison
at Tufts
in Boston, Mass.
Tue Apr 21
5:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
12:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison rally falls short at Wooster

Claire Ludlow had 3 goals and 2 assists against Wooster on Wednesday.
Claire Ludlow had 3 goals and 2 assists against Wooster on Wednesday.

The Big Rd put together a furious second-half rally, but the Wooster Fighting Scots kept their undefeated North Coast Athletic Conference record intact with a 13-12 victory on Wednesday night in Wooster, Ohio.

Wooster outscored Denison 9-4 in the opening half, highlighted by five-consecutive goals to end the period. Sophomore Claire Ludlow sparked DU's offense in the opening half with three goals.

Shelby Stone, who scored four times in the first half, opened the second half with a goal that ran the home team's streak to six unanswered tallies. Sophomore Reid Hirschey scored off an assist from Ludlow to cut the margin to five, but a second goal from Ellie Hudson-Heck put the Scots in front 11-5.

Facing a six-goal deficit, freshman Halle Walsh got the Big Red comeback started with a free-position goal with 21:15 left to play. Kelsey Wright followed with another score off an assist from Lizzy Pellicane. Hudson-Beck converted a free-position attempt to rebuild a five-goal advantage, but four-straight scores shrunk the margin to one with 3:41 on the clock.

Walsh scored her second goal at 14:39 off a pass from senior Whitney Powel. With 9:03 to play, Pellicane scored off an assist from Ludlow. Powel picked up her second assist of the game when she hit Carol Allen for a goal with 7:32. The four-goal run was capped off by an unassisted tally from Claudia Rafi.

Twenty-four seconds after Rafi's goal, Stone netted her sixth goal of the game, a score that proved to be very important for the Fighting Scots. With 1:15 remaining, Powel cashed in on a Wynn Boehmcke yellow card with a free-position goal 14 seconds after the penalty.

With time winding down, Lillian Smith forced an Ashley Parry turnover that was collected by Powel with nine seconds to play. However, Wooster prevented a successful DU clear which allowed the home team to remain undefeated in conference play.

Ludlow paced the Big Red offense with three goals and two assists, while Walsh and Allen both finished with two goals. Smith and Isabel Swicklik each collected four ground balls, while Melissa Weinsz and Emily Marlatt had three apiece. Laura Van Horn made five saves in 26+ minutes.

Stone led the Wooster offense with six goals, while Hudson-Heck chipped in three scores. Hudson-Beck also led all players with seven draw controls, while Stone had five. Boehmcke had six ground balls and caused four turnovers. Goalie Isabel Perman made six stops between the pipes.

Denison falls to 4-6 on the year and 1-2 in NCAC play, while the Scots improve to 9-2 overall and 4-0 in league play. The Big Red wraps up the week on Saturday at Allegheny. Game time is scheduled for 12 p.m.