Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu May 02
Final
4 Oberlin
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
10 Wooster
13 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Sun May 12
Final
6 Transylvania
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 18
Final
3 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa. - NCAA Tournament 3rd Rd.
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Geneseo
in Geneseo, N.Y.
Sun Feb 23
2:00 PM
Denison
at Brockport
in Brockport, N.Y.
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 04
4:30 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 16
5:00 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Wed Mar 18
5:00 PM
Stevenson
vs. Denison
@ Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Thu Mar 26
6:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 28
4:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 31
7:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 05
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 09
7:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
2:30 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 15
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sun Apr 19
1:00 PM
Denison
at Tufts
in Boston, Mass.
Tue Apr 21
5:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
12:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison to face Fredonia in NCAA Tournament

The Big Red will be making their 17th NCAA Tournament appearance.
The Big Red will be making their 17th NCAA Tournament appearance.

After another North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Championship on Saturday, the Big Red finds themselves back in the NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Tournament for the 17th time in program history.

Denison will face Fredonia State in the second round in Fredonia, N.Y. on Sunday, May 10 at 11 a.m.  The Big Red and the Blue Devils both received a bye into the second round of the tournament.

Denison enters the tournament with a record of 11-6.  DU secured an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament after defeating Oberlin College on Saturday, 14-7, in the championship of the NCAC Tournament.  

Fredonia received an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament after suffering a 15-6 loss to Cortland State in the championship of the SUNYAC Tournament.  The Blue Devils are ranked 17th in the latest IWLCA Top-20 poll.  Fredonia brings a 15-3 record into the tournament, with their only losses coming against Mount Union and Cortland State (twice).

This will be the first meeting between Denison and Fredonia in women's lacrosse.  While the Big Red have made 17 previous appearances in the NCAA Tournament, this is the third for Fredonia.

Denison is led by sophomore midfielder Claire Ludlow who has scored 48 goals and added 20 assists.  Senior midfielder Whitney Powel leads the team with 37 assists and Erin Keller is the team's leader with 50 draw controls.

Fredonia is paced by Marissa Cussins who has scored 56 goals and 26 assists.  Katie Kleine follows with 29 goals and 46 assists.  Last year in the NCAA Tournament, the Blue Devils suffered a 16-5 loss to Trinity (Conn.).

Denison and Fredonia share two common opponents in The College of Wooster and Mount Union.  The Big Red went 1-1 against the Fighting Scots and lost to Mount Union in their only meeting.  Fredonia defeated Wooster, 13-11 and lost to Mount Union, 9-7.