Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Mar 03
Final
4 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Thu Mar 07
Final
11 Rhodes
17 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 19
Final
10 Denison
14 vs. #9 Trinity (Conn.)
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Deyer 1
Wed Mar 20
Final
11 Geneseo
13 vs. Denison
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Lemon Bay HS
Fri Mar 22
Final - OT
15 #23 Rowan
16 vs. Denison
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Deyer 1
Sun Mar 31
Final
23 Denison
2 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 03
Final
17 Denison
8 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Apr 06
Final
0 Hiram
26 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 07
Final
20 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Apr 10
Final
14 Denison
6 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
Final
3 DePauw
25 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 16
Final
6 Wittenberg
25 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 17
Final
9 John Carroll
20 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 24
Final
3 Denison
17 at #8 York (Pa.)
in York, Pa.
Sat Apr 27
Final
10 Kenyon
16 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu May 02
Final
4 Oberlin
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
10 Wooster
13 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Sun May 12
Final
6 Transylvania
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 18
Final
3 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa. - NCAA Tournament 3rd Rd.
View Full Schedule

Denison to face Fredonia in NCAA Tournament

The Big Red will be making their 17th NCAA Tournament appearance.
The Big Red will be making their 17th NCAA Tournament appearance.

After another North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Championship on Saturday, the Big Red finds themselves back in the NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Tournament for the 17th time in program history.

Denison will face Fredonia State in the second round in Fredonia, N.Y. on Sunday, May 10 at 11 a.m.  The Big Red and the Blue Devils both received a bye into the second round of the tournament.

Denison enters the tournament with a record of 11-6.  DU secured an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament after defeating Oberlin College on Saturday, 14-7, in the championship of the NCAC Tournament.  

Fredonia received an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament after suffering a 15-6 loss to Cortland State in the championship of the SUNYAC Tournament.  The Blue Devils are ranked 17th in the latest IWLCA Top-20 poll.  Fredonia brings a 15-3 record into the tournament, with their only losses coming against Mount Union and Cortland State (twice).

This will be the first meeting between Denison and Fredonia in women's lacrosse.  While the Big Red have made 17 previous appearances in the NCAA Tournament, this is the third for Fredonia.

Denison is led by sophomore midfielder Claire Ludlow who has scored 48 goals and added 20 assists.  Senior midfielder Whitney Powel leads the team with 37 assists and Erin Keller is the team's leader with 50 draw controls.

Fredonia is paced by Marissa Cussins who has scored 56 goals and 26 assists.  Katie Kleine follows with 29 goals and 46 assists.  Last year in the NCAA Tournament, the Blue Devils suffered a 16-5 loss to Trinity (Conn.).

Denison and Fredonia share two common opponents in The College of Wooster and Mount Union.  The Big Red went 1-1 against the Fighting Scots and lost to Mount Union in their only meeting.  Fredonia defeated Wooster, 13-11 and lost to Mount Union, 9-7.