Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Mar 03
Final
4 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Thu Mar 07
Final
11 Rhodes
17 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 19
Final
10 Denison
14 vs. #9 Trinity (Conn.)
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Deyer 1
Wed Mar 20
Final
11 Geneseo
13 vs. Denison
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Lemon Bay HS
Fri Mar 22
Final - OT
15 #23 Rowan
16 vs. Denison
@ Spring Fling in Englewood, Fla. - Deyer 1
Sun Mar 31
Final
23 Denison
2 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 03
Final
17 Denison
8 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Apr 06
Final
0 Hiram
26 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 07
Final
20 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Apr 10
Final
14 Denison
6 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
Final
3 DePauw
25 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 16
Final
6 Wittenberg
25 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 17
Final
9 John Carroll
20 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 24
Final
3 Denison
17 at #8 York (Pa.)
in York, Pa.
Sat Apr 27
Final
10 Kenyon
16 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu May 02
Final
4 Oberlin
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
10 Wooster
13 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Sun May 12
Final
6 Transylvania
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 18
Final
3 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa. - NCAA Tournament 3rd Rd.
View Full Schedule

Denison opens NCAC play with a 21-9 win over Gators

Becca Jones  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Becca Jones | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Denison opened North Coast Athletic Conference play with a 21-9 victory over visiting Allegheny College.  With the score tied 3-3 through only four minutes of action, Denison went on a 7-0 run, separating themselves from the Gators.

Denison's big run was fueled by six free position goals and some strong goalie play by senior Becca Jones.  The Big Red outshot Allegheny 20-14 in the first half but Jones was there to post seven saves.  Her seven saves tied a season-high.

Thirteen different DU players accounted for their 21 goals.  Claudia Rafi led the team with four goals and Lindsey Karsh notched a hat trick.  Lee Hayman and Colleen Muldoon followed with two scores apiece.  Maddy Heher scored twice and also had two assists.  Kiely Noonan and Halle Walsh tallied one goal and one assists apiece.  Walsh also finished with four draw controls and two caused turnovers.  Leah Israel scored her 14th goal of the season and five other DU players scored their first goals of the season.  They were Graham McIntosh, Carlie Grandjean, Paris Healey, Leander Perun and Hope Adams.

Allegheny was led in scoring by Maddie Olson, Taylor Vigneri, and Shelby Piper who each finished with two goals.

Denison held a 30-25 advantage in shots and a 19-13 lead in ground balls.  The Big Red won 18 of 31 draws taken while causing seven of Allegheny's 19 turnovers.  The Big Red's 21 goals matched a season high set in the opener on Feb. 25 at Fredonia.

The victory was career win No. 99 for Denison head coach Amanda Daniels. Since taking over the program prior to the 2014 season, Daniels has posted a record of 58-24 (.707).

DU returns to action next Saturday, April 7 when they travel to Gambier, Ohio for an 11 a.m. opening draw with Kenyon College.