Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Apr 27
Final
10 Kenyon
16 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu May 02
Final
4 Oberlin
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
10 Wooster
13 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Sun May 12
Final
6 Transylvania
19 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 18
Final
3 Denison
14 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa. - NCAA Tournament 3rd Rd.
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Geneseo
in Geneseo, N.Y.
Sun Feb 23
2:00 PM
Denison
at Brockport
in Brockport, N.Y.
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 04
4:30 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 16
5:00 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Wed Mar 18
5:00 PM
Stevenson
vs. Denison
@ Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Thu Mar 26
6:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 28
4:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 31
7:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 05
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 09
7:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
2:30 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 15
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sun Apr 19
1:00 PM
Denison
at Tufts
in Boston, Mass.
Tue Apr 21
5:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
12:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison drops Gators to advance to NCAC Championship

Claudia Rafi (12) |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Claudia Rafi (12) | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Denison set a new single-season record for goals scored as they put 24 on the board en route to 24-8 win over Allegheny in the semifinals of the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament from Piper Stadium.

The previous single-season record for goals scored was 285 set in 2012.  This year's squad has scored 294 goals.  The conference record for single-season goals is 311 set by Wittenberg in 2014.

Today's win marked the 10th time out of 17 contests this season they have defeated a team by more than 10 goals and activated the running clock.

The Gators and the Big Red played a fairly even first half with Denison holding a 19-15 edge in shots.  The difference was Denison's accuracy.  They scored 13 goals on their 19 shots attempts compared to a 6-for-15 showing for the Gators.

In the second half, Denison's depth overwhelmed Allegheny as they outscored the Gators 11-2 while taking a 10-goal lead with 24 minutes left in the contest.

Claudia Rafi and Kiely Noonan led Denison with seven points apiece.  Rafi scored five goals and had two assists while Noonan posted four goals and three helpers.

Liza Farnham and Leah Israel notched hat-trick's and Israel led the way with eight draw controls.  The Gators committed 30 turnovers and 10 came during clearing attempts.  Allegheny finished 12-for-22 when clearing while Denison was 18-for-20.

The Big Red was 6-for-10 on free position attempts and Hannah Magarian and Becca Jones combined for nine saves.  Jones turned in five saves in the second half to lead DU.  Junior defender Jane Goodspeed and senior Grace Gavula finished with three ground balls and two caused turnovers.

With the win, Denison advances to the NCAC Tournament Championship on Saturday, May 5 at 1 p.m. where they will face the College of Wooster.  The Fighting Scots defeated second-seeded Oberlin, 14-11 on Wednesday in the other semifinal matchup.  The game will take place at Piper Stadium on the Denison University campus.