Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Aug 30
2:30 PM
Denison
vs. Bridgewater (Va.)
@ Wash. & Lee in Lexington, Va.
Sat Aug 31
2:30 PM
Denison
at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va.
Tue Sep 03
7:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 07
2:00 PM
Carnegie Mellon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 08
1:00 PM
Adrian
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 11
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 14
1:00 PM
Denison
at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Wed Sep 18
7:30 PM
Denison
at Franklin
Franklin, Ind.
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Denison
at Messiah
in Mechanicsburg, Pa.
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Big Red Weekend
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat Oct 12
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
12:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
5:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Women’s Soccer drops OT loss to #18 Centre

Sam Haseltine  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Sam Haseltine | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Centre's Alana Hughes scored in the 97th minute of overtime as the No. 18 ranked Colonels defeated the Denison Big Red 2-1 on Saturday afternoon at Barclay-Thomsen Field in Granville.

Despite Centre outshooting DU 25-10 on the day, it was Denison who struck first in the 86th minute when a feed from Kailey Knopf across the goal line met the waiting feet of senior Sam Haseltine who pushed it in the back of the net to give the Big Red a 1-0 advantage with less than five minutes remaining in the second half.

Following the DU goal, the Colonels tallied the next three shots of the match, including the equalizer from Elizabeth Nelson with 34 seconds remaining to tie the match at 1-1 and send it to overtime.

Totaling one of her 11 saves on the day in overtime, freshman keeper Patil Tcholakian kept Centre out of the net in the 93rd minute of play when she punched away a shot from Nelson and left the match tied at 1-1 in OT.

After CC's Cameron Zak had her next two shots blocked and missed high, respectively, Zak assisted Hughes on her game-winner at 96:42 as the Big Red fell to 4-2 on the season. The Colonels improved to 5-0 to begin the year.

Denison's Haseltine, Kelly O'Neill, and Claire Kolff led the team with two shots each, while Kolff and Riley Hammond also added shots on goal. Centre's Brooke Smithson finished with a match-high seven shots and three on goal. Hughes followed with six total shots for the game.

In goal, Tcholakian's 11 saves tied a program record for saves in a single match, last accomplished by Jessica Leahy against Ohio Wesleyan on October 27, 2001. For the Colonels, Sarah Stodghill finished with three saves in 96:42 of action.

The Big Red wrap up their five-game homestand next Saturday, September 22 when Allegheny College comes to Granville for a 12 p.m. start.

DU blanks Gators in NCAC opener
September 22, 2018 DU blanks Gators in NCAC opener