Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 31
Final
0 Denison
1 at RIT
in Rochester, N.Y.
Sat Sep 01
Final
1 Denison
0 at Nazareth
in Rochester, N.Y.
Wed Sep 05
Final
1 Otterbein
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 08
Final
0 Buffalo State
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sun Sep 09
Final
2 Shenandoah
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Sep 15
Final - OT
2 #18 Centre
1 #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 22
Final
0 Allegheny
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 25
Final
2 Denison
1 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Sep 29
Final - 2OT
0 Kenyon
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 06
Final - 2OT
1 Denison
1 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Oct 10
Final - OT
0 Oberlin
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
Final
0 Wittenberg
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 17
Final
0 Thomas More
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 20
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Oct 24
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Oct 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Women’s Soccer drops OT loss to #18 Centre

Sam Haseltine  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Sam Haseltine | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Centre's Alana Hughes scored in the 97th minute of overtime as the No. 18 ranked Colonels defeated the Denison Big Red 2-1 on Saturday afternoon at Barclay-Thomsen Field in Granville.

Despite Centre outshooting DU 25-10 on the day, it was Denison who struck first in the 86th minute when a feed from Kailey Knopf across the goal line met the waiting feet of senior Sam Haseltine who pushed it in the back of the net to give the Big Red a 1-0 advantage with less than five minutes remaining in the second half.

Following the DU goal, the Colonels tallied the next three shots of the match, including the equalizer from Elizabeth Nelson with 34 seconds remaining to tie the match at 1-1 and send it to overtime.

Totaling one of her 11 saves on the day in overtime, freshman keeper Patil Tcholakian kept Centre out of the net in the 93rd minute of play when she punched away a shot from Nelson and left the match tied at 1-1 in OT.

After CC's Cameron Zak had her next two shots blocked and missed high, respectively, Zak assisted Hughes on her game-winner at 96:42 as the Big Red fell to 4-2 on the season. The Colonels improved to 5-0 to begin the year.

Denison's Haseltine, Kelly O'Neill, and Claire Kolff led the team with two shots each, while Kolff and Riley Hammond also added shots on goal. Centre's Brooke Smithson finished with a match-high seven shots and three on goal. Hughes followed with six total shots for the game.

In goal, Tcholakian's 11 saves tied a program record for saves in a single match, last accomplished by Jessica Leahy against Ohio Wesleyan on October 27, 2001. For the Colonels, Sarah Stodghill finished with three saves in 96:42 of action.

The Big Red wrap up their five-game homestand next Saturday, September 22 when Allegheny College comes to Granville for a 12 p.m. start.