Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
0 Denison
1 vs. Bridgewater (Va.)
@ Lexington, Va. in Lexington, Va.
Sat Aug 31
Final
0 Denison
0 at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va.
Tue Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at #23 Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 07
Final - 2OT
2 Carnegie Mellon
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Adrian
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 11
Final - 2OT
2 Ohio Northern
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 14
Final
0 Denison
3 at #20 Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Wed Sep 18
Final
4 Denison
0 at Franklin
Franklin, Ind.
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Denison
4 at #2 Messiah
in Mechanicsburg, Pa.
Wed Sep 25
Final
2 Denison
0 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Big Red Weekend
Sat Oct 05
Final
3 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat Oct 12
Final
4 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
Final - 2OT
0 DePauw
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
Final
2 Denison
1 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
Final - OT
1 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 29
Final
1 Hiram
4 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
Final
2 Wooster
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 06
Final
0 Denison
2 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Denison plays to scoreless draw with DePauw

Patil Tcholakian  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Patil Tcholakian | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Denison women's soccer moved to 3-0-1 in North Coast Athletic Conference play on Saturday afternoon following a 0-0 scoreless draw with DePauw University at Barclay-Thomsen Field in Granville.

Both sides combined for 30 shots and 10 corner kicks in the double-overtime effort with DePauw opening the match with the first two shots on goal from Shaili Kumar and Alex Wendt. Following Patil Tcholakian's third-straight save in the 17th minute of action, sophomore Abby King fired a shot attempt at 19:48, but DePauw's Reanna Stiehler secured the save to keep the match scoreless.

The Tigers tallied three additional shots on goal before the half, but Tcholakian continued to hold off the opposition as Denison and DePauw entered the break tied at 0-0.

After DePauw opened the second half with three consecutive shots from Jenna McCarroll, Alex Berkley, and Sophia Silcox, the Big Red looked to have their best shot of the day in the 51st minute when King sent a strong take from 25 yards out, but the top crossbar interfered and kept Denison off the board.

At 71:55, junior Kate Dannemiller took her shot at breaking the tie from 40 yards out on a free-kick, but Stiehler collected the save and gave DePauw's offense an opportunity. Less than a minute later, Anissa Nourse sent a shot toward the left side of the net, but Tcholakian made the save with 17:13 remaining in regulation. The Tigers added three more shots in the second half, but both sides stayed scoreless entering extra time.

After both teams remained scoreless in the first overtime, DePauw outshot the Big Red 4-2 in the final 10 minutes of play, but neither shot on net from Kumar or Nourse was able to cross the goal line as Denison moved to 6-4-4 on the season. The draw sent DePauw to 8-5-2 on the year and 3-0-2 in conference play.

King led the Big Red with four shots while Dannemiller followed with two. Freshman Victoria Nielsen also tallied a shot on goal for DU. Kumar and Nourse totaled five shots each for DePauw while combining for six shots on goal. Berkley added four shots and McCarroll finished with two.

In goal, Tcholakian earned her fourth shutout in the last five matches with 11 saves in 110 minutes of action. For DePauw, Stiehler finished with three saves in the extra time effort.

Denison returns to action on Wednesday, Oct. 23 when they travel to Oberlin College for a 7 p.m. opening kick with the Yeowomen.