Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 28
9th Annual Alumni & Family Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 18
5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic 4th Place
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
10 a.m. | 5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic 4th Place
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
10 a.m. | 1 p.m.
at Cincinnati L, 226.50-73.50
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Fri Nov 01
6 p.m.
at Kenyon W, 195-105
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
1 p.m.
Xavier W, 154-107
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
5 p.m.
at Ohio State
in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
5 p.m.
Denison Invitational
LCM Time Trials in Granville, Ohio
Thu Dec 05
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Dec 06
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Jan 17
4 p.m.
at Pittsburgh
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Calvin
@ Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Jan 24
5 p.m.
Indianapolis
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
TBD
Ohio Wesleyan
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 13
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 14
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
TBD
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Feb 28
TBD
at NCAA Diving Regional
Sat Feb 29
TBD
at NCAA Diving Regional
Wed Mar 18
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Thu Mar 19
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Fri Mar 20
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Sat Mar 21
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
View Full Schedule

Denison women's swimming & diving places fourth in the nation

2018 NCAA 4th Place
2018 NCAA 4th Place

INDIANAPOLIS—The Denison women's swimming & diving team placed fourth at the 2018 NCAA Division III Championship, marking the program's 11th consecutive top-four national finish.  Denison completed the four-day championship with 25 All-American performances and two event national championships.

While the Big Red's team finish mirrored each of the last two years, there were some major strides taken in 2018.  Denison finished with 385 points, a 113-point gain over the 272 points that were scored at last year's championship.  First place went to Emory with 603 while Kenyon took second (500) and Williams finished third with 412, just 27 points ahead of the Big Red.

For the second-straight night, sophomore KT Kustritz stole the show by winning the 200 breaststroke with a meet-record time of 2:12.27.  Kustritz shattered her own varsity record by 2.06 seconds and came within .08 of setting a new national record in back-to-back days.  On Friday, Kustritz became the first female to post a sub-one minute 100 breaststroke (59.77).  She ended the meet with the maximum seven All-American swims, highlighted by the two victories and a runner-up finish in the 200 IM.

In the 200 backstroke, sophomore Jacquelyn Kurkjian picked up her first career All-American plaque by placing fourth in the 200 backstroke with a PR of 2:00.64.  Erica Hsu, who was seeded 31st in the event entering the championship, placed 11th in 2:01.78 by knocking 2.56 seconds off her previous best.  Hsu also finished third in the 400 IM on Thursday.

In the 1,650 freestyle, Natalie Zaravella chopped 9.60 seconds off her seed time to make the winners podium.  She finished sixth in 16:58.91.  Last year, she was 13th in the event with a time of 17:12.45, marking a 14 second improvement over the last year.

Prior to the 400 freestyle, Denison diver Allison Fitzgerald finished eighth on the 3-meter board.  She totaled an 11-dive score of 450.05 to log her second top-8 All-American plaque of the meet.  Fitzgerald placed fifth on the 1-meter board on Thursday.  Her top dive in the finals of the 3-meter board came on her second-to-last attempt. She scored a 52.50 on her forward 1 ½ somersault 2 twist free.  Fitzgerald contributed 25 points in her two events.

The championship was capped off by a third-place finish in the 400 free relay. The team of Mia Chiappe, Gabriella Nutter, Maddie Hopkins and Kustritz completed the meet in 3:24.32.  The Big Red entered the championship with a seed time of 3:25.04.

In addition to Denison's 11-straight top-four finishes, they have placed in the top-7 every year dating back to 1987 (32-straight years).

Women edged at Kenyon
November 11, 2017 Women edged at Kenyon
Denison women defeat Xavier
November 4, 2017 Denison women defeat Xavier