Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Fri Oct 18
5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic 4th Place
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
10 a.m. | 5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic 4th Place
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
10 a.m. | 1 p.m.
at Cincinnati L, 226.50-73.50
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Fri Nov 01
6 p.m.
at Kenyon W, 195-105
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
1 p.m.
Xavier W, 154-107
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
6 p.m.
at Ohio State L, 214.5-80.5
in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
5 p.m.
Denison Invitational
LCM Time Trials in Granville, Ohio
Thu Dec 05
10 a.m. | 6 p.m.
Denison Invitational 2nd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Dec 06
10 a.m. | 6 p.m.
Denison Invitational 2nd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
10 a.m. | 6 p.m.
Denison Invitational 2nd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Jan 17
4 p.m.
at Pittsburgh
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Carnegie Mellon W, 172.5-127.5
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Calvin W, 235-65
@ Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Jan 24
5 p.m.
Indianapolis
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
10 a.m.
Ohio Wesleyan
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
10 a.m.
Youngstown State
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 13
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 14
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
TBD
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Feb 28
TBD
NCAA Diving Regional
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 29
TBD
NCAA Diving Regional
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 18
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Thu Mar 19
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Fri Mar 20
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Sat Mar 21
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
No Event
View Full Schedule

Women’s lead increases at Denison Invite

KT Kustritz  |  Photo by Craig Hicks
KT Kustritz | Photo by Craig Hicks

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Following an impressive showing on Thursday, the top-ranked Denison women's swimming and diving team increased their lead during the second day of competition at the 2018 Denison Invitational at the Trumbull Aquatics Center. Totaling 1,626 points through two days of competition, the Big Red currently hold a 326.5 point lead over second-place Eastern Michigan with 1,309.5 team points. Emory sits in third with 1,145.5, while Wayne State-Mich. (814), Washington-St. Louis (748), Ohio State (58), and Thomas More (37) rounds out the field.

The nation's current record holder in the 100 breaststroke (59.77), KT Kustritz, entered the finals after posting an NCAA 'A' cut time and new pool record of 1:00.48 during the morning session. In the A-Final, Kustritz broke her Trumbull Aquatics Center record with a first-place time of 59.84 ('A' cut), finishing just .07 seconds shy of tying her national record. Kustritz' time is the fastest in Division III this season. Following Kustritz in third place was junior Kate Mesaros who tied her personal best with a 'B' cut time of 1:02.40.

Tallying her second cut time of the night, Kustritz joined Angela Le, Maddie Hopkins, and Casey Kirby to open the session with a second-place finish and a 'B' cut time of 1:41.57 in the 200 medley relay. Shaving 3.85 seconds off their prelim time, the group posted the fastest time in NCAA Division III.

Logging three provisional qualifying times in the 200 free, the Big Red were led by Mia Chiappe in fourth place with a 'B' cut time of 1:51.91. Junior Hannah Rusinko finished .06 seconds behind Chiappe in fifth place with a 'B' cut of 1:51.97, good for a new personal record, and freshman Spencer Crawford also garnered a new PR with a 'B' cut time of 1:52.04. Logan Wickman rounded out the A-Final with a 1:54.50 in ninth.

In the 400 IM, Natalie Zaravella dropped her prelim time by 5.43 seconds to log a 'B' cut time of 4:21.74 and finish in third. Erica Hsu also clocked in with a 'B' cut of 4:24.68 in fourth, while freshman Grace Kacmarek posted a new PR of 4:32.55 in ninth place.

The Big Red recorded two more 'B' cut times in the 100 butterfly after sophomore Maddie Hopkins headlined DU in second place with a 55.87, and Zoe Whelan followed in sixth with a provisional qualifying time of 56.58.

The night was closed out by Zaravella, Chiappe, Crawford, and Rusinko in the 800 free relay after clocking in with a 'B' cut time of 7:30.39 in third place, 25.75 seconds better than their entry time.

The Big Red will return to the Trumbull Aquatics Center on Saturday for finals in the 1,650 free, 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast, 200 fly, 400 free relay, and both women's & men's 3-meter diving.