Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Sep 28
9th Annual Alumni & Family Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 18
5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
1 p.m.
at Cincinnati
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Fri Nov 01
6 p.m.
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
1 p.m.
Xavier
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
5 p.m.
at Ohio State
in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
5 p.m.
Denison Invitational
LCM Time Trials in Granville, Ohio
Thu Dec 05
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Dec 06
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Jan 17
4 p.m.
at Pittsburgh
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Calvin
@ Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Jan 24
5 p.m.
Indianapolis
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
TBD
Ohio Wesleyan
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 13
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 14
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
TBD
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Feb 28
TBD
at NCAA Diving Regional
Sat Feb 29
TBD
at NCAA Diving Regional
No Event
View Full Schedule

Kustritz's national championship highlights Friday at NCAA's

KT Kustritz  |  Photo by Linda Striggo
KT Kustritz | Photo by Linda Striggo

GREENSBORO, N.C.--  The Denison women's swimming & diving team posted one individual national championship and seven All-American performances to highlight day three of the 2019 NCAA Division III Championship at the Greensboro Aquatic Center.  Through 15 of 20 events, Denison trails first-place Emory by 32 points.  The Eagles lead with 351 points followed in second place by Kenyon at 340 and the Big Red at 319.

For the second-straight year, Denison junior KT Kustritz captured a national championship in her featured event, the 100-yard butterfly.  For Kustritz, it marks the third individual event national championship of her career bringing her one shy of DU women's swimming's all-time leader in individual event titles, Tamara Carty '02.  Kustritz, who also the Division III national record holder in the event, touched in 1:00.60.  Fellow junior Kate Mesaros placed fourth for the second consecutive year.  Mesaros posted a time of 1:01.38.

In the women's 1-meter dive, Allison Fitzgerald qualified for the championship final and posted an 11-dive score of 444.20.  The fifth-place showing marked the third-straight All-American performance for Fitzgerald on the 1-meter. In the six-dive championship final, Fitzgerald was consistent, scoring between 40.25 and 49.20 on all dives.  Her top score came on her final attempt, an inward 1 ½ somersault pike (403B).  In preliminaries, junior Naomi Clayton finished 20th with a score of 365.90.

Denison junior Zoe Whelan continued her steady upward climb of the standings in the 200 butterfly.  After a 31st place finish in the event as a first-year and an 18th place finish as a sophomore, Whelan touched with a personal best time of 2:02.60 to place fifth. 

In the 100 backstroke, Casey Kirby qualified for the consolation final by winning a swim-off against Anna Moore of Albion College.  Kirby placed 16th in the finals with a time of 58.01 while Angela Lee was 15th in 56.40.

The 800 free relay team of Mia Chiappe, Hannah Rusinko, Erica Hsu, and Natalie Zaravella posted a time of 7:25.64 to place fourth.

Denison will close out the 2019 NCAA Division III Championship on Saturday with finals in the 1,650 free, 100 free, 200 back, 200 breast, and the 400 free relay.