Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Feb 09
4:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 10
10:00 AM
Denison
vs. Butler
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 17
11:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
2:30 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
TBA
Denison
vs. New Haven
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 19
TBA
Denison
vs. Oral Roberts
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
TBA
Denison
vs. Wis.-Superior
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
4:00 PM
Hillsborough CC
vs. Denison
@ Tampa, Fla. in Tampa, Fla.
Fri Mar 22
9:30 AM
Denison
vs. Wellesley
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
TBA
Carnegie Mellon
vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Mar 31
11:00 AM
Case Western Reserve
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 05
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 09
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
10:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10:00 AM
Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Women’s Tennis opens fall season at Kenyon

Devin Gramley  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Devin Gramley | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

GAMBIER, Ohio – Denison women's tennis opened their 2018 fall schedule this past Saturday and Sunday, September 15-16, at the Kenyon College Invitational hosted at the VandenBerg Courts in Gambier, Ohio. The Big Red were one of seven teams to compete on the weekend, including Carnegie Mellon, John Carroll, Ohio Wesleyan, Centre, West Virginia State, and tournament host, Kenyon.

In singles play, Denison garnered their most success in the sixth flight where they tallied four victories, including a 3-0 mark from freshman Hannah Bradvica. Defeating JCU's Skye Harwood in the opening round 6-0, 6-1, Bradvica took down Nika Tadic of West Virginia State (6-3, 6-3) in the semifinals, and then Carnegie Mellon's Emily Zelichenok 6-1, 7-6 in the flight final. Sophomore Devin Gramley also earned a Flight F victory after taking a three-set match from CMU's Elizabeth Schulz 1-6, 7-5, 10-1.

In the second flight of the day, senior Emma Alsup dropped the first match of the day to Victoria Chang of CMU but came back to defeat Ohio Wesleyan's Ale Coronal-Zegarra 6-1, 6-1 before falling to Beata Liberchuk (Carnegie Mellon) in the consolation final, 2-6, 7-5, 10-7.

The same fortune occurred in the fourth flight as senior Ashley Hammons advanced through the consolation bracket with a semifinal victory over Meryl Reams of OWU, 6-2, 6-3, but dropped the final match to Centre's Hannah Doherty for a 1-2 record on the day.

To go along with their sixth flight championship, Natalie Overby and Morgan Arroyo both earned consolation championships after Overby won Flight G over teammate Susan Biederstedt 7-5, 6-1, and Arroyo took Flight F from OWU's Rachel Forrest in straight sets, 6-0, 6-0.

On the doubles courts, the Big Red's top duo of Alsup and Lauren Hawley won their first match of the A flight over Ohio Wesleyan's Coronal-Zegarra and Sydney Simmons, 8-3, before falling in the semifinals to WVSU's Laura Isbey and Kierstin Hensley 8-4.

In the second flight, the pairs of Hammons and Charlotte Purnode and Megan Hickey and Alex Cash met up in the consolation championship match with the latter taking the victory, 8-2.

Following their singles success, Bradvica and Gramley teamed up in the third flight of doubles where they defeated CMU's Lindy Cornwall and Ola Wojciak 8-5 and then Elena Prenovitz and Kayla Pukys from Kenyon, 8-3. The combo eventually fell in the championship match to Zelichenok and Caroline Stallings from Centre, 8-3.

Totaling 17 wins on the weekend, the Big Red return to the courts this coming Friday-Monday, September 21-24, when they travel to Kalamazoo, Michigan to take part in the ITA's Central Regional fall tournament.