Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Feb 09
4:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 10
10:00 AM
Denison
vs. Butler
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 17
11:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
2:30 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
TBA
Denison
vs. New Haven
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 19
TBA
Denison
vs. Oral Roberts
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
TBA
Denison
vs. Wis.-Superior
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
4:00 PM
Hillsborough CC
vs. Denison
@ Tampa, Fla. in Tampa, Fla.
Fri Mar 22
9:30 AM
Denison
vs. Wellesley
@ USTA National Campus - Lake Nona, Fla. in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
TBA
Carnegie Mellon
vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Mar 31
11:00 AM
Case Western Reserve
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 05
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 09
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
10:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10:00 AM
Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison women compete at ITA’s

(L-R) Emma Alsup, Lauren Hawley  |  Photo by Jason Miller
(L-R) Emma Alsup, Lauren Hawley | Photo by Jason Miller

KALAMAZOO, Mich. – Denison women's tennis rounded out there fall season this past Friday through Monday, Sept. 21-24, at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's central regional tournament hosted at Kalamazoo College's Stowe Tennis Stadium.

Seniors Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup led the way for the Big Red, combining for nine championship bracket victories and an appearance in the doubles semifinal round. Hawley, one of 128 singles competitors, opened the tournament with a 6-1, 6-0 victory over Oberlin's Maja Shaw before defeating Hope's Taylor LaBarge, 6-4, 6-1, in the round of 64.

Hawley continued her impressive play with a 6-2, 6-0 win over Kenyon's Margaret Sweeney, but her tournament came to an end in the round of 16 after falling to Chicago's Eugenia Lee in the quarterfinals, 6-4, 7-6 (2).

Alsup also began singles play with a win, Ysabel Gonzaga from Elmhurst 6-0, 6-1 before taking down Trine's Ashley Spirrison in the round of 64, 3-6, 6-1, 10-4. As one of two DU singles competitors to advance to the round of 32, Alsup ended her tournament with a 6-4, 6-3 loss to Jessica Liu of Case Western.

Denison's Alex Cash and Devin Gramley also opened singles play with victories, defeating Kalamazoo's Julia Bachmann 6-0, 6-1, and DePauw's Grace Haigh 7-5, 6-1, respectively.

In the consolation bracket, Hannah Bradvica tallied two victories, while senior Megan Hickey advanced to the semifinals before falling to WashU's Divya Sharma, 6-1, 6-2.

On the doubles courts, Hawley and Alsup opened the first two rounds with 8-0 sweeps over Sofia Alonso and Anna Winslow of Kenyon and DePauw's Haigh and Allison Bush. An 8-4 defeat of Lisa Chionis and Stephanie Ren advanced the tandem to the quarterfinal round where they handed a 10-8 loss to ITT's Morgan Colbert and Weronika Halicka. The senior combo ended their impressive tournament play in the regional semifinal match, falling to CWR's Liu and Madeleine Paolucci.

DU tallied two additional victories in doubles play, thanks to Gramley and Charlotte Purnode's 8-2 win over Albion's Marceline Redick and Lauren Solano, and Bradvica and Cash teaming up to defeat Darja Beshentseva and Ilana Blackwood (Kenyon), 8-6.

Following the completion of their fall schedule, the Big Red will return to the courts on Saturday, February 9 as they begin dual match play with the University of Chicago in Indianapolis, Ind. Play is set to start at 7:30 p.m.