Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 09
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #30 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 10
Final
1 #30 Denison
6 vs. Butler
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 17
Final
3 Indiana (PA)
6 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
Final
6 #30 Denison
3 at #39 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
Final
9 #30 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
Final
7 #28 Denison
0 vs. New Haven
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 19
Final
1 #28 Denison
6 vs. Oral Roberts
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
Final
9 #28 Denison
0 vs. Wis.-Superior
@ Lake Cane Tennis Center in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
Final
0 #28 Denison
9 at Hillsborough CC
in Tampa, Fla.
Fri Mar 22
Final
9 #28 Denison
0 vs. #39 Wellesley
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
10:00 AM
Carnegie Mellon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 31
11:00 AM
Case Western Reserve
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 05
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 09
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
10:00 AM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10:00 AM
Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

#30 Denison excels in singles play to defeat IUP

Megan Hickey  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Megan Hickey | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

GRANVILLE, Ohio – No. 30 Denison women's tennis earned their first dual match victory of the season on Sunday when they handed a 6-3 defeat to the Crimson Hawks of Indiana University of Pennsylvania at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville.

Despite an early 2-1 deficit on the doubles court, the nationally ranked Big Red came out firing in singles play when DU's No. 1 Lauren Hawley tied the match at 2-2 when she captured the top-flight singles win over Katya Michenkova, 7-5, 5-2.

Hannah Cianciola took the lead for Denison in No. 4 play when she defeated Thais Andreotti, 7-5, 6-4, but the Crimson Hawks tied the match at 3-3 when sophomore Alex Cash fell to Laura Dunarova on the No. 3 court, 6-4, 6-4.

The Big Red retook the lead after Emma Alsup held on for a three-set victory over Julia Newman in No. 2 singles, 6-3, 6-7 (6), 6-2. A win in No. 6 singles for Ashley Hammons over Flavia Flandoli (7-6 (1), 6-0) iced the win for DU and Megan Hickey's 6-3, 7-6 (10) defeat of Mariana Valenzuela in No. 5 play added to the team win.

Denison earned their lone win on the doubles court in top-flight play when the nation's No. 25 pairing of Hawley and Alsup teamed up to defeat Minchenkova and Andreotti, 8-5.

The Big Red will return to action on Saturday, March 2 when they travel to Holland, Mich. for a matchup with No. 39 Hope College at 1 p.m.