Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sat Feb 09
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #30 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 10
Final
1 #30 Denison
6 vs. Butler
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 17
Final
3 Indiana (PA)
6 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
Final
6 #30 Denison
3 at #39 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
Final
9 #30 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
Final
7 #28 Denison
0 vs. New Haven
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 19
Final
1 #28 Denison
6 vs. Oral Roberts
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
8:30 AM
#28 Denison
vs. Wis.-Superior
@ Lake Cane Tennis Center in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
4:00 PM
#28 Denison
at Hillsborough CC
in Tampa, Fla.
Fri Mar 22
9:30 AM
#28 Denison
vs. #39 Wellesley
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
10:00 AM
Carnegie Mellon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 31
11:00 AM
Case Western Reserve
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 05
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 06
TBA
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 09
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
10:00 AM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10:00 AM
Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison holds off Hope in key top-40 matchup

Megan Hickey, Ashley Hammons  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Megan Hickey, Ashley Hammons | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

HOLLAND, Mich.—No. 30 Denison posted a 6-3 victory over No. 39 Hope in a Central Region matchup from the Hope College campus on Saturday.  Denison, who was ranked sixth in the most recent regional rankings, swept all three doubles matches and won three singles points to leave town with the win.

In doubles action, Denison's Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup defeated Claire Hallock and Amanda Bandrowski 8-3 out of the first flight to put Denison on top, 2-0.  The first point of the match came from Alex Cash and Hannah Cianciola after an 8-2 win over Taylor LaBarge and Sydney Jackson.

In the third flight, Megan Hickey and Ashley Hammons held off Bailey Chorney and Erin LaBarge for the 8-6 win.

Hope rallied with wins at first, second and third singles but Denison's bottom of the order came through with straight-set wins.  Out of the fourth flight, Cianciola topped LaBarge, 6-4, 7-6.  At No. 5, Hickey downed Chorney, 6-4, 6-3 and Madeline Hart topped Liz Pniewski at No. 6, 6-3, 6-3.

Denison moves to 2-2 with the win while Hope drops to 2-2.  The Big Red returns to the court on Sunday, March 3 when they travel to Kalamazoo for a 2:30 p.m. match.