Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 09
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #30 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 10
Final
1 #30 Denison
6 vs. Butler
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 17
Final
3 Indiana (PA)
6 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
Final
6 #30 Denison
3 at #39 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
Final
9 #30 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
Final
7 #28 Denison
0 vs. New Haven
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 19
Final
1 #28 Denison
6 vs. Oral Roberts
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
Final
9 #28 Denison
0 vs. Wis.-Superior
@ Lake Cane Tennis Center in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
Final
0 #28 Denison
9 at Hillsborough CC
in Tampa, Fla.
Fri Mar 22
Final
9 #28 Denison
0 vs. #39 Wellesley
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 26
Final
4 #28 Denison
5 at #22 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
Final
7 #10 Carnegie Mellon
2 vs. #27 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 31
Final
2 #31 Case Western Reserve
7 vs. #27 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 05
Final
6 #27 Denison
3 vs. #33 Wis.-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 05
Final
8 #9 Chicago
1 vs. #27 Denison
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 06
Final
3 #27 Denison
6 vs. #16 Washington (Mo.)
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 09
Final
9 #27 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 #34 DePauw
8 vs. #26 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
9:00 AM
#26 Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Women’s Tennis falls to #10 Carnegie Mellon

Hannah Cianciola  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Hannah Cianciola | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

GRANVILLE, Ohio – The 27th ranked Denison women's tennis team suffered a 7-2 loss to No. 10 Carnegie Mellon University on Saturday afternoon at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville, Ohio.

In doubles competition, the match opened with a top-25 matchup where CMU's Danna Taylor and Melissa Strome defeated Denison's Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup 8-2 in No. 1 play.

DU's Hannah Cianciola and Alex Cash rebounded on the No. 2 court with an 8-3 win over Courtney Ollis and Jamie Vizelman, but the Tartans entered singles play with a 2-1 advantage after Alex Iordache and Janabelle Wu handed an 8-5 loss to Megan Hickey and Ashley Hammons on the No. 3 court.

In singles action, Carnegie Mellon captured the first three matches to take a 5-1 lead. In No. 4 singles, Cianciola won the first set over Strome in a 7-6 (3) tiebreaker but fell in the second set, 4-6. Entering the final set, Cianciola earned Denison their second victory of the day with a 6-4 win.

CMU rounded out the match with victories in No. 5 & 6 play to hand the Big Red their sixth loss of the dual match season. Carnegie Mellon improved to 10-5 on the season while DU fell to 7-6.

The Big Red will remain in Granville on Sunday, March 31 when they host No. 31 Case Western Reserve University at 11 a.m.