Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 09
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #30 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 10
Final
1 #30 Denison
6 vs. Butler
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Feb 17
Final
3 Indiana (PA)
6 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
Final
6 #30 Denison
3 at #39 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
Final
9 #30 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 vs. #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
Final
7 #28 Denison
0 vs. New Haven
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 19
Final
1 #28 Denison
6 vs. Oral Roberts
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
Final
9 #28 Denison
0 vs. Wis.-Superior
@ Lake Cane Tennis Center in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 21
Final
0 #28 Denison
9 at Hillsborough CC
in Tampa, Fla.
Fri Mar 22
Final
9 #28 Denison
0 vs. #39 Wellesley
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Lake Nona, Fla.
Tue Mar 26
Final
4 #28 Denison
5 at #22 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
Final
7 #10 Carnegie Mellon
2 vs. #27 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 31
Final
2 #31 Case Western Reserve
7 vs. #27 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 05
Final
6 #27 Denison
3 vs. #33 Wis.-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 05
Final
8 #9 Chicago
1 vs. #27 Denison
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 06
Final
3 #27 Denison
6 vs. #16 Washington (Mo.)
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 09
Final
9 #27 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 #34 DePauw
8 vs. #26 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
9:00 AM
#26 Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red bounce back with 7-2 win over #31 Case Western

Megan Hickey  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Megan Hickey | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

GRANVILLE, Ohio - Highlighted by a 3-0 start on the doubles courts, No. 27 Denison women's tennis recovered from Saturday's loss to No. 10 Carnegie Mellon to defeat 31st ranked Case Western Reserve 7-2 on Sunday afternoon at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville.

The Big Red opened the match strong in doubles play where the top-flight went to Denison's Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup following a top-10 regional victory over Case Western's Madeleine Paolucci and Nicole Cardwell, 8-6.

On the No. 2 court, Alex Cash and Hannah Cianciola handed an 8-5 loss to Sneha Karnam and Shreyaa Mukund, while Megan Hickey and Ashley Hammons secured the doubles sweep in the third-flight with an 8-4 win over Mira Amin and Eliza Georgiades.

In singles play, Cianciola earned the DU's first victory on the No. 4 court following a 6-4, 6-1 win over Karnam. Leading 4-2 through six matches, the Big Red received a statement victory from Alsup in the second-flight. After losing the first set to Cardwell 2-6, Alsup rattled off back-to-back victories 7-5, 6-1 in the next two sets to secure the win.

In No. 5 play, Hickey defeated Mukund 6-4, 6-2, and Hammons rounded out the team's eighth win of the dual season with a 6-2, 7-6 (4) victory over Nidhi Jha on the No. 6 court. The Big Red improved to 8-6 with the win while CWRU fell to 5-7.

Following consecutive home matches, Denison will hit the road this Friday through Saturday, April 5-6 when they travel to Madison, Wis. to compete in the 2019 Midwest Invitational.