Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No events to show.

Ohio Wesleyan wins fourth-straight conference title

Ohio Wesleyan University captured their ninth North Coast Athletic Conference women's indoor Track & Field Championship and their fourth consecutive title, outdistancing second-place Oberlin by 14.5 points.  The Bishops totaled 164.5 team points and logged three individual championships on their way to the team trophy.

Oberlin finished with 150 points and led all schools with six individual championships.  Third place went to Allegheny College with 113.5 points and Wittenberg followed with 75 points.  Positions five through eight went to Denison (51), Kenyon (43), Wooster (39) and Earlham (27).

Beth Muller of Allegheny was named the Sprint/Hurdle Athlete of the Year after she won the 55-meter dash, the 200 meter dash and placed second in the 400 meter dash.  Muller's teammate, Lauren Butler, was named the Field Athlete of the Year after winning the shot put and the Middle Distance/Distance Runner of the Year was Oberlin's Clara Shaw who took home a pair of victories in the mile and the 800 meters.  The women's Coach of the Year was Oberlin's Ray Appenheimer.

In Saturday's sprint events, Muller of Allegheny won the 55-meter dash with a time of 7.51 seconds.  She followed that with a time of 26.37 seconds to win the 200 meter dash.  In the 400 meter dash, Oberlin's Marissa Clardy topped Muller with a time of 59.39 to win the event.

In the 55 meter hurdles, Wittenberg's Whitney Goller logged the Tiger's first individual title with her time of 8.73 seconds, besting Madeline Schultz of Oberlin.

Oberlin wound up winning two of the three distance/mid-distance events as Clara Shaw reached an NCAA provisional standard with her time of 2:16.35 in the 800 meters.  She was also victorious in the mile, besting OWU's Kaitlin Zimmerly by more than four seconds, with her winning performance of 5:06.43.

The 3,000 meters Zimmerly earned a victory when she topped Denison's Katie Navarre with a time of 10:18.03.  Navarre finished in 10:25.28 and third place went to Oberlin's Joanna Johnson in 10:28.45.

Just as they did in the distance races, Oberlin College won two of the three relays.  In the 4x400 relay, Schultz, Laura Vernon, Amanda Miller, and Clardy set a new conference record with a time of 4:04.50.  The previous record of 4:05.46 was set in 2001 by Allegheny.  Three of those same four runners also won the 4x200 for the Yeowomen.  The only difference was Melissa Elie who led off the race and helped her team to a time of 1:48.00.

The victory in the distance medley relay went to Battling Bishop foursome of Claire Everhart, Lindsay Dunbar, Kara Reiter, and Emma Lisull.  That group defeated second-place Oberlin by more that five seconds (12:50.09).

Two field event finals were conducted on Saturday morning and Earlham College's Elizabeth Ross picked up the Quaker's lone individual title by clearing 5'3.25" in the high jump.  The long jump saw OWU's Lainey Kekic edge Wittenberg's Goller by 3.5".  Kekic best jump was 16'6.5"