Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No events to show.

Davis named Sprinter of the Year at NCAC Championship

Tiffany Davis was named NCAC Sprinter of the Year.
Tiffany Davis was named NCAC Sprinter of the Year.

Denison sophomore Tiffany Davis was named the North Coast Athletic Conference Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year after winning championships in the 200 meter dash and the 60 meter dash.  In the 60 meter dash she posted a time of 7.85 seconds, cruising to her first conference title of her career. 

On Friday night, in the prelims of the 200 meter dash, she broke the conference record set by former DU standout Jackie Berner in 2002.  Davis didn't best her prelim time of 25.63 on Saturday, but her time of 25.79 would have still set a new conference mark.

In addition to her wins in both sprints, she also ran the anchor leg of the 4x200 relay along with Rose Schrott, Jane Zelenkov and Ani Mutafova.  The foursome crossed in 1:50.92 to place fifth.

In the final relay of the night, Zelenkov, Emily Siskind, Mutofova and Davis placed fourth in 4:17.08.  The MVP award for Davis marked the ninth time a Denison female track and field athlete has left the indoor championship with one of the three top awards.

Other point scorers for DU on Saturday included senior Michelle Clark's fourth-place finish in the 3,000 meters in 10:36.56.  Mutafova turned in a fifth-place finish in the 800 meters in 2:19.55 and Abbi Boss checked in seventh in the mile (5:22.21).

In the distance medley relay, Olivia Galano, Zelenkov, Anne McGinty and Siskind placed seventh in 13:37.04.  Overall, Denison scored 43 team points to place eighth in the final standings.  Ohio Wesleyan won the team title with 192 points.