Big Red places 6th at All-Ohio

Aedin Brennan won the triple jump at the D-III All-Ohio Championship.
Aedin Brennan won the triple jump at the D-III All-Ohio Championship.

The Denison women's indoor track & field team posted a sixth-place finish at the 2013 Division III All-Ohio Championship hosted by Otterbein University.

Denison scored in seven events on their way to 41 team points.  The Big Red was led by first-year Aedin Brennan and senior Michelle Clark who each posted individual event victories.

Brennan broke her own school record in the triple jump with a distance of 36'9".  That topped her previous mark of 36'4.25" set in December at Capital University.  Brennan also posted a 14th place finish in the long jump (15'11.75") while running on the eighth-place 4x200 relay and the ninth-place4x400 relay.

For Clark, this marked her first individual crown at the All-Ohio Indoor Championship.  She won the 3,000 meters by more than four seconds thanks to her personal best time of 10:32.49.

Tiffany Davis came very close to joining Clark and Brennan on the winner's podium as she placed second in the 60 meter dash and the 200 meter dash.  Davis was edged out by Mount Union's Mary Mahoney in both events.  In the 60 meter dash she posted a time of 7.92 seconds and she returned with a time of 25.89 in the 200.

In DU's eighth-place 4x200 relay, Brennan was joined by Kiki Yewer, Beth Armitage and Davis who posted a time of 1:51.04.  First-year Emily Lamm placed eighth in the mile run after crossing the finish line in 5:24.04.

Denison's best finish in a relay came in the Distance Medley event as the foursome of Ashley Bartreau, Yewer, Lamm and Clark placed sixth in 13:07.45.

In the 5,000 meter run Abbi Boss just finished outside of the top-8 with her time of 18:57.14.  Kristen Geary placed 16th in the pole vault, clearing 8'6.25" and the 4x400 relay team of Yewer, Armitage, Brennan and Davis placed ninth in 4:17.38.

Denison's sixth-place finish was a seven-spot improvement over last year's 13th place finish.  Mount Union won the team title with 110.5 points, followed by Ohio Wesleyan (97), Baldwin-Wallace (65.5), Oberlin (53), and Otterbein (49).

The Big Red will travel to Gambier, Ohio next Saturday (Feb. 16) for the Kenyon College Classic.