Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No events to show.

DU grabs second behind five victories

Anne Lee won the triple jump with a leap of 33'5.25
Anne Lee won the triple jump with a leap of 33'5.25" on Saturday.

Behind the strength of eight top-2 performances, the Denison women's track and field squad placed second at the first-ever Bob Shannon Invitational at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville on Saturday.

Entering the final event of the day, the 4x400 relay, Denison trailed second place John Carroll by 2.5 points.  The Big Red foursome of Kiki Yewer, Olivia Ireland, Tiffany Davis and Aedin Brennan combined for a time of 4:08.21 to win the event, earning their squad 10 points. With the Blue Streaks earning just five points with a fourth-place finish, DU jumped JCU to claim second by the same margin they trailed heading into the event.  In addition to being the fastest time of the day, the group's performance was also the 10th best in school history.

The Distance Medley relay team of Emily Lamm, Sarah Hoffman, Brennan and Olivia Galano also earned Denison 10 points after posting a time of 12:39.03.  Their race-winning performance marked the seventh-best time in program history.

Davis, junior Abbi Boss and freshman Anne Lee also recorded individual victories.  Davis claimed the 200-meter title with a Mitchell Fieldhouse record time of 25.58.  That time bested her previous facility record by 13 thousands of a second.  The senior sprinter also placed second in the 60-meter dash with a time of 7.91. Boss posted a personal-best time of 5:21.99 in the mile, while Lee won the triple jump with a leap of 33'5.25".  In addition to her triple jump win, the freshman also took eighth in the long jump with a combined distance of 15'4.75".

Brennan's jump of 16'8.00" landed her in second place in the long jump, while Lamm posted a runner-up finish in the 800 with a time of 2:26.66.  Junior Kristen Geary placed fourth in the pole vault after clearing 8'6.25", while newcomer Laura Carr finished tied for eighth in the event (7'6.50").  Sophomore Kate Benson and Gwen Gunter placed fifth and seventh, respectively, in the 5,000 with time of 19:54.86 and 20:22.69.  Marina Townsend also posted a fifth place finish after clearing 4'8.25" in the high jump, while Yewer and Claire Barcelo took home seventh-place points in the 200 dash (27.84) and 3,000 (11:29.08), respectively.

Ohio Wesleyan took home the team title with 99 points, while host Denison compiled 94.5 points.  John Carroll racked up 92 tallies, while Carnegie Mellon (87.5) and Wooster (78) rounded out the top five.

The Big Red returns to competition next Saturday at the All-Ohio Championship hosted by Otterbein University. Events are slated to begin at 11 a.m.