DU women finish 10th at All-Ohio meet

Emily Grabauskas | Photo by Brett Dunbar
Emily Grabauskas | Photo by Brett Dunbar

DELAWARE, Ohio -- Denison sophomore Ajai Brooks captured two event titles at the 2017 All-Ohio Championship meet helping the Big Red to a 10th-place finish on Saturday.

Brooks kicked off her day with an impressive showing in the preliminaries of the 100-meter dash, posting the fastest time at 11.78. Over three hours the sophomore sprinter returned to the track to capture the 100-meter title as she shaved four hundredths of a second off her time. She won the event by over half a second, crossing the finish line in 11.74.  The time broke the All-Ohio Championship meet record of 12.00 seconds that was set by Judy Bataille of Heidelberg in 2009.

Brooks' second victory came in the 200-meter event with a time of 25.20, which was 82 hundredths of a second faster than Wittenberg freshman Tyra Barnes.

Big Red junior Arlesha Cospy took second in the discus with a toss of 143-feet even. Cospy was only bested by Otterbein sophomore Emily Finnegan who won the event with a heave of 149'5". Fellow junior Hannah Hall finished fourth in the high jump after successfully clearing 5'1.25". North Coast Athletic Conference athletes occupied four of the top five spots in the high jump, including Cirrus Robinson who won the event with a mark of 5'6.50".

Junior Emily Grabauskas rounded out the scoring for the Big Red with a seventh-place showing in the 1500-meter run. Grabauskas' time of 4:58.83 was the third-fastest time by an NCAC athlete in the event. Freshman Sydney Chandler also had a strong showing in the 400 hurdles. She completed the event in 1:11.21 which moved her into 10th place on the program's top performers list.

The host Battling Bishops won the All-Ohio team title with 111 points, while Ohio Northern finished right behind with 100 tallies. Otterbein was third with 99, five points ahead of fourth-place Oberlin (94). The Big Red finished the day with 35 points.

Denison will be back in action next Saturday (April 22) at the Kenyon Spring Invitational in Gambier, Ohio.