Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Dec 07
at Mount Union Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 18
at Carnegie Mellon Invitational
in Geneva, Ohio (SPIRE Institute)
Sat Jan 25
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Jan 30
at Wooster Dual Meet
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 09
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 14
at OWU Open
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
at All-Ohio Championship
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
at Wittenberg Invitational
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Feb 23
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 28
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 29
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 06
at Polar Bear Final Qualifier
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Mar 07
at Polar Bear Final Qualifier
in Ada, Ohio
Fri Mar 13
at NCAA Championship
in Geneva, Ohio (SPIRE Institute)
Sat Mar 14
at NCAA Championship
in Geneva, Ohio (SPIRE Institute)
Sat Mar 28
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Apr 03
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
at All-Ohio Championship
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Apr 16
Wooster Dual Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 18
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 24
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 26
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 01
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat May 02
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 08
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 13
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill. (North Central College)
Thu May 14
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill. (North Central College)
Thu May 21
at NCAA Championship
in Rochester, N.Y. (St. John Fisher College)
Fri May 22
at NCAA Championship
in Rochester, N.Y. (St. John Fisher College)
Sat May 23
at NCAA Championship
in Rochester, N.Y. (St. John Fisher College)
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red places 15th at All-Ohio

Arlesha Cospy  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Arlesha Cospy | Photo by Brett Dunbar

DELAWARE, Ohio -- Thanks to six finishes in the top 10, Denison women's track and field finished in 15th place overall on Saturday afternoon at the All-Ohio Division III Championships in Delaware, Ohio.

Leading the way with a pair of top 10 finishes each were seniors Arlesha Cospy and Hannah Hall. In the shot put event, Cospy launched a sixth-place throw of 38'4" (11.68 meters) while freshman Anna Vrancken trailed in 13th place with a throw of 34'8.50" (10.58 meters). In the discus, Cospy's toss of 150'3" (45.80 meters) in second place was one of two marks on the afternoon that broke Tami Lupton's (Defiance) previous All-Ohio record of 149'6" (45.58 meters) from 1997. The other distance belonged to Monique Newton of Oberlin College who won the event with a 154'5" (47.08 meters). Vrancken finished the event in 14th (110'8").

In the high jump, the reigning national qualifier, Hall, found success when she reached a height of 5'3" (1.60 meters) in sixth place as she was trailed by freshman Danni Gutelius in 18th place with a jump of 4'9" (1.45 meters). Hall added another top 10 finish in the javelin throw, posting a throw of 102'3" (31.18 meters) to place 8th overall.

Rounding out the field events for the Big Red was Mackenzie Mason who placed 15th in the pole vault with a new outdoor PR of 10'2.75" (3.12 meters).

In the distance events, Denison was led by freshman Molly Smith who logged a time of 2:24.93 in the 800 meter run to finish in 11th place, while Sydney Lerda followed in 22nd with a 2:32.46. Erin O'Connor finished with a 5:03.28 in the 1,500-meter run (16th) and Tommy Solberg clocked in at 19:51.74 for a 24th place finish in the 5,000-meter run. Smith and Lerda also joined Gutelius and Sydney Chandler in the 4X400 meter relay with a time of 4:17.67 to finish in ninth place.

Also representing the Big Red at the 2018 Bison Outdoor Classic at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, Pa. was junior Anna Fash who finished the 10,000-meter race in ninth place with a 39:03.45.

Denison will return to action next Friday through Saturday, April 20-21 as members will compete in the Jesse Owens Classic at Ohio State University and the Kenyon Spring Invitational held in Gambier, Ohio.