Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Dec 07
at Mount Union Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 18
at Carnegie Mellon Invitational
in Geneva, Ohio (SPIRE Institute)
Sat Jan 25
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Jan 30
at Wooster Dual Meet
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 09
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 14
at OWU Open
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
at All-Ohio Championship
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
at Wittenberg Invitational
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Feb 23
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 28
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 29
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 06
at Polar Bear Final Qualifier
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Mar 07
at Polar Bear Final Qualifier
in Ada, Ohio
Fri Mar 13
at NCAA Championship
in Geneva, Ohio (SPIRE Institute)
Sat Mar 14
at NCAA Championship
in Geneva, Ohio (SPIRE Institute)
Sat Mar 28
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Apr 03
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
at All-Ohio Championship
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Apr 16
Wooster Dual Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 18
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 24
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 26
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 01
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat May 02
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 08
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 13
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill. (North Central College)
Thu May 14
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill. (North Central College)
Thu May 21
at NCAA Championship
in Rochester, N.Y. (St. John Fisher College)
Fri May 22
at NCAA Championship
in Rochester, N.Y. (St. John Fisher College)
Sat May 23
at NCAA Championship
in Rochester, N.Y. (St. John Fisher College)
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red sit in third at NCAC Championship

Big Red sit in third at NCAC Championship

MEADVILLE, Pa. -- After a strong showing on day one of the North Coast Athletic Conference's Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Allegheny College, the Denison women's team currently sits in third place with a combined 29.50 team points. The Big Red trail Ohio Wesleyan in second place (57.50) and Oberlin College in first (94) after the first day of competition.

On day one of the field events, the Big Red earned a pair of top-five finishes from senior Arlesha Cospy in the hammer throw and shot put events. With a throw of 134'6" (41.01 meters) in the hammer throw, Cospy placed fifth overall while freshman Anna Vrancken trailed in ninth place with a new personal-best distance of 121'11" (37.17 meters). In the shot put, Cospy earned all-conference recognition when she finished in second with a toss of 40'4.25" (12.30 meters). Vrancken's mark of 34'7" (10.54 meters) placed her seventh overall.

Junior Mackenzie Mason rounded out DU's Friday field performances in the pole vault, logging a leap of 9'9.25" (2.98 meters) to tie Ohio Wesleyan's Erin Sheehan for seventh place.

During the preliminary running events, Denison tallied three qualifiers for the finals on Saturday, led by a fourth-place finish in the 400-meter dash from Molly Smith as she clocked in with a new PR time of 1:01.98. Senior Jessica Nix also logged a new career-low time in the 100-meter hurdles, posting a 16.42 in eighth place.

DU's third finals qualifier of the night came in the 800-meter run when Phoebe Osterhout landed in fifth place, clocking in at 2:23.09. Sophomore Sydney Lerda finished the event in ninth place with a new personal record of 2:25.69.

In the finals of the 10,000-meter run, the Big Red was led by junior Anna Fash who finished the event in second place with a time of 38:53.91.

Denison will return to Allegheny College on Saturday, May 5 for the second day of competition at the NCAC Championships in Meadville.