Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 01
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
vs. CMU Invitational
@ SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio
Sat Jan 26
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 03
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
at Roanoke College DIII Challenge
in Salem, Va.
Sat Feb 16
at Kenyon Classic
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 16
at Kent State Tune-Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 22
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 23
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Feb 24
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 01
at NCAA Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
at NCAA Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Mar 08
vs. NCAA Championship
@ Reggie Lewis Center in Boston, Mass.
Sat Mar 09
vs. NCAA Championship
@ Reggie Lewis Center in Boston, Mass.
Sat Mar 16
at Muskie Duals
in New Concord, Ohio
Fri Mar 29
at Hilltop Classic
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Mar 30
at Hilltop Classic
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 10
2 p.m.
Denison-Wooster Dual Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
at All-Ohio Championship
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 27
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 03
at NCAC Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat May 04
at NCAC Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri May 10
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 15
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 16
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 23
vs. NCAA Championship
@ SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio
Fri May 24
vs. NCAA Championship
@ SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio
Sat May 25
vs. NCAA Championship
@ SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Cospy earns All-American honors in the discus

Arlesha Cospy  |  Photo by D3Photography
Arlesha Cospy | Photo by D3Photography

La Crosse, Wis.--  Denison University senior Arlesha Cospy placed fourth in the women's discus at the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Track & Field Championship on Thursday.  This is the first All-American performance for Cospy and the 20th All-American showing in Denison women's track & field history.

Cospy entered this year's championship seeded ninth out of 22 qualifiers after her PR throw of 46.80 meters at the Big Red Invitational on April 27.  After faulting on her first attempt, Cospy posted a distance of 42.57 meters on her second attempt.  On her third attempt, Cospy moved up the leaderboard with her best attempt of the afternoon, a 46.54-meter throw.  That throw held firm and allowed her to place fourth out of the field of 22 entries in the discus.

Oberlin's Monique Newton won the national championship with a distance of 50.14 meters on the fifth attempt.  Erica Oawster of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire placed second (49.56m) and Hannah Meager of Aurora took third at 47.27 meters. 

Cospy is the second Denison female track and field athlete to post an All-American finish in the discus and the first since Laura Finkes finished third at the 2003 NCAA Division III Championship in Canton, N.Y.  Finkes' throw of 47.27 meters set a new school record.  Cospy's PR of 46.80 meters ranks second on DU's all-time list.

This marked Cospy's third year as a national qualifier.  Her previous best finish at nationals was a 16th place showing at last year's championship in Geneva, Ohio.  A nine-time All-NCAC performer and the 2016 North Coast Athletic Conference Champion in the discus Cospy recently graduated with a degree in communication from Denison.