Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sat Jan 19
at Dave Lehman Open
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 26
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
at Fighting Scots Invitational 5th Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
12 p.m. / 2 p.m.
Bob Shannon Invitational 8th Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 03
12 p.m.
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
11 a.m.
at Noke Elite Meet 5th Place
in Salem, Va.
Sat Feb 16
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
at Kenyon Classic 8th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 16
10:00 am
at Kent State Tune-Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 22
5 p.m. / 7 p.m.
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 24
12:30 p.m.
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 01
12 p.m. / 4 p.m.
at NCAC Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
10 a.m. / 2:15 p.m.
at NCAC Championship 8th Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Mar 15
10 a.m. / 3:45 p.m.
at Washington & Lee Carnival
in Lexington, Va.
Sat Mar 16
11 a.m. / 11:50 a.m.
at Washington & Lee Carnival
in Lexington, Va.
Sat Mar 16
11 a.m.
at Muskie Duals
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
10 a.m. / 11 a.m.
at Hilltop Classic 2nd Place
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational 3rd Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 10
3:30 p.m.
Denison-Wooster Dual Meet 2nd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
10 a.m.
at All-Ohio Championship 16th Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10 a.m. / 12 p.m.
at Kenyon Spring Invitational 3rd Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10 a.m.
at Kentucky Outdoor Open
in Lexington, Ky. (UK Outdoor Track & Field Complex)
Fri Apr 26
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 27
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 03
at NCAC Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat May 04
at NCAC Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri May 10
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 15
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 16
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 23
at NCAA Championship
@ SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio
Fri May 24
at NCAA Championship
@ SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio
Sat May 25
at NCAA Championship
@ SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red women place 5th at Fighting Scots Invite

Sarah Radziewicz  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Sarah Radziewicz | Photo by Brett Dunbar

WOOSTER, Ohio -- Denison women's track and field logged eight personal bests on their way to a fifth-place finish on Saturday at the Fighting Scots Invitational hosted by the College of Wooster. Totaling 58 team points on the day, the Big Red finished 29 points ahead of sixth place Kenyon (29). Wooster won the meet with 131.5 team points.

Leading the way on the track for the Big Red were freshman Meagan Balch and sophomore Sarah Radziewicz. In the one mile run, Balch paced DU with a personal best time of 5:37 to finish second overall and Radziewicz followed in ninth with a PR of 5:52.72.

The pair also led Denison in the 800-meter run, highlighted by Balch's personal record in sixth place at 2:36.68. Radziewicz trailed in 11th with a PR of 2:50.56 and Stefanie Rodrigues finished in 15th after clocking in at 2:55.75.

The Big Red added two more personal records when Allie Holmes logged a sixth-place time of 1:09.24 in the 400-meter dash and sophomore Danni Gutelius placed 11th in the 60-meter dash when she crossed the finish line in 8.96.

In the field, freshman Ashley Schmoll won the shot put event with a maximum launch of 36'10.25" (11.23 meters), while Anna Vrancken followed in fifth place with a final mark of 33'3.75" (10.15 meters). Vrancken then led DU in the weight throw after placing third overall on a distance of 40'6.25" (12.35 meters) and freshman Becca Skolnick landed two spots behind in fifth place with a new PR of 35'5.75" (10.81 meters).

In the high jump event, Gutelius landed in third place with a final mark of 4'7.50" (1.41 meters), while senior Mackenzie Mason placed second overall in the pole vault on a launch of 9'0.25" (2.75 meters).

Denison rounded out the action in the 4X400 meter relay when Balch, Holmes, Gutelius, and Rodrigues teamed up to finish seventh overall with a time of 4:54.67.

The Big Red will return to action next Saturday, February 2 when they host the Bob Shannon Invitational and the All-Ohio Combined Events Championship at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville.