Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 31
Final
0 Denison
3 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 01
Final
3 Mass.-Boston
1 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, Ohio in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 01
Final
0 Thiel
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, Ohio in Alliance, Ohio
Wed Sep 05
Final
0 Denison
3 at #19 Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Sep 08
Final
3 Mt. St. Joseph
1 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 08
Final
0 Grove City
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio in Gambier, Ohio
Tue Sep 11
Final
1 Marietta
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Franciscan
@ Wooster, Ohio in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
Final
1 Bethany (W.V.)
3 vs. Denison
@ Wooster, Ohio in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Sep 18
Final
0 Denison
3 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Sat Sep 22
Final
3 DePauw
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 25
Final
3 Muskingum
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 26
7:00 PM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Tue Oct 02
7:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Oct 10
7:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Oct 16
7:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Oct 19
6:00 PM
Finlandia
vs. Denison
@ Olivet in Olivet, Mich.
Fri Oct 19
8:00 PM
Denison
at Olivet
in Olivet, Mich.
Sat Oct 20
1:00 PM
Wis.-Eau Claire
vs. Denison
@ Albion in Albion, Mich.
Sat Oct 20
3:00 PM
Denison
at Albion
in Albion, Mich.
Wed Oct 24
7:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Volleyball drops season opener at Mount Union

Emma Woerner  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Emma Woerner | Photo by Brett Dunbar

ALLIANCE, Ohio – The Big Red volleyball program opened the 2018 season with a trip to the Mount Union Invitational on Friday night where they fell to the University of Mount Union in straight sets, 3-0.

Following a 3-0 win for the Purple Raiders earlier in the day against the College of Wooster, the Big Red stayed tight with Mount Union in the first set, taking a 15-14 advantage thanks to multiple kills from senior Isabella Pivec and freshman Payton McElfresh. Despite a block from Pivec that brought DU within two, 21-19, the Purple Raiders ended the first set with a 25-21 victory.

After dropping the second set, kills by Katie Aucamp and a service ace by Julia Miller helped Denison take an 8-6 lead early in the third set. The advantage grew for the Big Red after Aucamp and freshman Marija Pavlick capitalized on service aces to lead 19-16, but four-straight points from Mount Union's Madelin DiBease, Maria Ellesin, and Breanna Arnett allowed the Purple Raiders to end the night with a 25-23 victory.

Sophomore Emma Woerner led DU with six kills, while Aucamp tallied a team-high 11 digs. Miller and McElfresh tied for a team-best 10 assists to pace the Big Red.

Mount Union's Kyleigh Jackson led all players with 12 kills, while Carly Stepic posted 34 assists.

The Big Red will return to the Mount Union Invitational on Saturday, September 1 where they will play UMass-Boston at 10 a.m., followed by a 12 p.m. matchup with Thiel College.