Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
1 Denison
3 vs. Carnegie Mellon
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Aug 31
Final
0 Denison
3 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Aug 31
Final
0 Utica
3 vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Sep 06
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Adrian
@ Unknown MIAA/NCAC Crossover Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Denison
3 at Alma
in Lansing, Mich.
Sat Sep 07
Final
3 Denison
0 at Trine
in Lansing, Mich.
Tue Sep 10
Final
3 #21 Ohio Northern
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 14
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Albion
@ Earlham in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 14
Final
3 Denison
1 vs. Ind.-Southeast
@ Richmond, Ind. in Richmond, Ind.
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Wilmington (Ohio)
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
10:00 AM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. La Roche
@ Capital University Tournament in Columbus, Ohio
Tue Sep 24
7:00 PM
Bluffton
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
1:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 02
7:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 08
7:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
11:30 AM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Franciscan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
7:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Volleyball drops season opener at Mount Union

Emma Woerner  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Emma Woerner | Photo by Brett Dunbar

ALLIANCE, Ohio – The Big Red volleyball program opened the 2018 season with a trip to the Mount Union Invitational on Friday night where they fell to the University of Mount Union in straight sets, 3-0.

Following a 3-0 win for the Purple Raiders earlier in the day against the College of Wooster, the Big Red stayed tight with Mount Union in the first set, taking a 15-14 advantage thanks to multiple kills from senior Isabella Pivec and freshman Payton McElfresh. Despite a block from Pivec that brought DU within two, 21-19, the Purple Raiders ended the first set with a 25-21 victory.

After dropping the second set, kills by Katie Aucamp and a service ace by Julia Miller helped Denison take an 8-6 lead early in the third set. The advantage grew for the Big Red after Aucamp and freshman Marija Pavlick capitalized on service aces to lead 19-16, but four-straight points from Mount Union's Madelin DiBease, Maria Ellesin, and Breanna Arnett allowed the Purple Raiders to end the night with a 25-23 victory.

Sophomore Emma Woerner led DU with six kills, while Aucamp tallied a team-high 11 digs. Miller and McElfresh tied for a team-best 10 assists to pace the Big Red.

Mount Union's Kyleigh Jackson led all players with 12 kills, while Carly Stepic posted 34 assists.

The Big Red will return to the Mount Union Invitational on Saturday, September 1 where they will play UMass-Boston at 10 a.m., followed by a 12 p.m. matchup with Thiel College.