Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
1 Denison
3 vs. Carnegie Mellon
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Aug 31
Final
0 Denison
3 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Aug 31
Final
0 Utica
3 vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Sep 06
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Adrian
@ Unknown MIAA/NCAC Crossover Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Denison
3 at Alma
in Lansing, Mich.
Sat Sep 07
Final
3 Denison
0 at Trine
in Lansing, Mich.
Tue Sep 10
Final
3 #21 Ohio Northern
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 14
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Albion
@ Earlham in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 14
Final
3 Denison
1 vs. Ind.-Southeast
@ Richmond, Ind. in Richmond, Ind.
Wed Sep 18
Final
0 Wilmington (Ohio)
3 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
10:00 AM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. La Roche
@ Capital University Tournament in Columbus, Ohio
Tue Sep 24
7:00 PM
Bluffton
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
1:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 02
7:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 08
7:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
11:30 AM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Franciscan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
7:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Tigers rally to defeat Big Red in final sets

Emma Woerner  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Emma Woerner | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Despite taking the first set of the match, 25-23, Denison volleyball fell to DePauw University 3-1 (25-23, 19-25, 19-25, 19-25) on Saturday afternoon at Livingston Gymnasium in Granville, Ohio.

With both sides opening their North Coast Athletic Conference schedule, the Big Red looked to be in full control during the first set after kills from Emma Woerner and Payton McElfresh put DU in front, 15-13.

Kills from Morgan Stearley and Grace Filbrun allowed the Tigers to take a 19-17 lead, but six-consecutive points from the Big Red and a set-ending kill from McElfresh gave Denison the first set of the match, 25-23.

DU kept the momentum on their side in the second set with five-straight points to open the frame, including three from Woerner and junior Alex Tubbs. Denison's advantage would increase to 19-15, but DePauw answered with the set's final 10 points on six kills from Liv Hartman and a service ace from Sarah Herman to even the sets at 1-1.

Following DePauw's win in the second set, the Tigers opened the final frame with a 12-2 lead, forcing a DU timeout. Following the timeout, DU received a spark off of kills from McElfresh and freshman Olivia Burnside, along with service ace from Marija Pavlick, to give the Big Red 12 of the next 15 points and only trail the Tigers by one, 15-14.

With Denison trailing 22-19 toward the end of the set, DePauw tallied the final three points of the set and secured the match for their seventh win of the season. The loss dropped DU to 5-6 on the year.

The Big Red were led by double-digit kills from Woerner (15), McElfresh (10), and senior Isabella Pivec (10), while senior Julia Miller paced DU with 42 of the team's 47 assists. McElfresh also tied for the match-lead with 25 digs, while Tubbs tallied nine kills, five blocks, and a .348 hit percentage.

DePauw's Hartman finished with a match-high 24 kills and a .375 hit percentage, while Filbrun recorded 51 assists to lead both sides. Stearley totaled 25 digs and Jenna Purichia ended the day with 20.

The Big Red will continue their three-match homestand on Tuesday, September 25 for a 7 p.m. start with Muskingum before they host Earlham College on Wednesday, September 26 at 7 p.m.