Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 31
Final
0 Denison
3 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 01
Final
3 Mass.-Boston
1 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, Ohio in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 01
Final
0 Thiel
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, Ohio in Alliance, Ohio
Wed Sep 05
Final
0 Denison
3 at #19 Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Sep 08
Final
3 Mt. St. Joseph
1 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 08
Final
0 Grove City
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio in Gambier, Ohio
Tue Sep 11
Final
1 Marietta
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Franciscan
@ Wooster, Ohio in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
Final
1 Bethany (W.V.)
3 vs. Denison
@ Wooster, Ohio in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Sep 18
Final
0 Denison
3 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Sat Sep 22
Final
3 DePauw
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 25
Final
3 Muskingum
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 26
Final
3 Earlham
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 29
Final
0 Denison
3 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Tue Oct 02
Final
3 Ohio Wesleyan
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 06
Final
3 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Oct 10
Final
3 #4 Wittenberg
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
Final
3 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Oct 16
Final
1 Denison
3 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Oct 19
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Finlandia
@ Olivet, Mich. in Olivet, Mich.
Fri Oct 19
Final
3 Denison
0 at Olivet
in Olivet, Mich.
Sat Oct 20
Final
3 #14 Wis.-Eau Claire
0 vs. Denison
@ Albion, Mich. in Albion, Mich.
Sat Oct 20
Final
1 Denison
3 at Albion
in Albion, Mich.
Wed Oct 24
Final
0 Wooster
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 27
Final
3 Denison
0 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 02
Final
3 Wooster
1 vs. Denison
@ Springfield, OH NCAC Tournament - First Round
View Full Schedule

Denison falls short in four-sets to #4 Witt

Marija Pavlick  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Marija Pavlick | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Despite a 25-21 victory in the opening set, Denison volleyball suffered their fourth NCAC loss of the season on Wednesday evening to No. 4 Wittenberg University by a final score of 3-1 (25-21, 18-25, 19-25, 10-25) at Livingston Gymnasium in Granville.

Outhitting the Tigers .211 to .082 in the first set, the Big Red opened the match with three-straight points on attacking errors from Wittenberg and a kill from sophomore Kaila Kasper.

After Witt evened the set at 10-10 off a kill from Aubrey Cox, a kill from Alex Tubbs was followed by six consecutive attacking errors from the Tigers as Denison jumped out to a 17-10 advantage. Leading 21-19 toward the end of the set, Kasper and freshman libero Marija Pavlick combined for DU's final four points of the frame as the Big Red took an early 1-0 lead.

In the second set, kills from Isabella Pivec and Payton McElfresh helped the Big Red go in front 4-3, but multiple kills from Paige Kucinic allowed the Tigers to tally the next six points on their way to a 9-4 advantage.

Both sides traded shots until a kill from Tubbs cut the Denison deficit to 23-18, but the next two points belonged to Wittenberg as they tied the match at 1-1.

The Tigers continued their momentum in the third set with an early 13-8 lead. Four consecutive points from DU and a kill from Julia Miller kept the Big Red within two, 17-15, but Witt rallied for eight of the next 12 points to enter the fourth set up 2-1.

Led by a 10-2 start to the fourth set, Wittenberg finished the match on a 15-8 scoring run to send the Big Red to 6-11 overall and 1-4 in the North Coast Athletic Conference. The Tigers improved to 15-2 on the season, including a 4-0 mark in conference play.

Tied for the team lead with nine kills each, Kasper and McElfresh also combined for 31 digs on the evening. Pavlick's 12 digs finished in a tie for second best on the team while Miller paced DU with 28 assists. Pivec chipped in seven kills and Tubbs added four.

Three Wittenberg players finished with double-digit kills on the night, including a match-high 18 from Kennedy Schmidt. Karen Wildemann led the match with 47 assists and Taylor Yontz collected 24 digs.

Denison returns to action on Saturday, October 13 when they head to Meadville, Pa. to take on Allegheny College at 1 p.m.