Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
1 Denison
3 vs. Carnegie Mellon
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Aug 31
Final
0 Denison
3 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Aug 31
Final
0 Utica
3 vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Sep 06
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Adrian
@ Unknown MIAA/NCAC Crossover Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Denison
3 at Alma
in Lansing, Mich.
Sat Sep 07
Final
3 Denison
0 at Trine
in Lansing, Mich.
Tue Sep 10
Final
3 #21 Ohio Northern
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 14
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. Albion
@ Earlham in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 14
Final
3 Denison
1 vs. Ind.-Southeast
@ Richmond, Ind. in Richmond, Ind.
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Wilmington (Ohio)
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
10:00 AM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. La Roche
@ Capital University Tournament in Columbus, Ohio
Tue Sep 24
7:00 PM
Bluffton
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
1:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 02
7:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 08
7:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
11:30 AM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Franciscan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
7:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Volleyball suffers 3-0 setback at Otterbein

Alex Tubbs  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Alex Tubbs | Photo by Jace Delgado

WESTERVILLE, Ohio – Otterbein's Tate Eppard tallied a match-high 11 kills as the Cardinals defeated Denison 3-0 (14-25, 11-25, 18-25) on Tuesday evening in Westerville.

Otterbein totaled 16 kills in the first set and a .333 hit percentage in the second set as they jumped out to an early 2-0 match lead over the Big Red.

Despite the early deficit, Denison played close with the Cardinals going back-to-back on kills from Otterbein's Dasha Bruyako and DU's Alex Tubbs.

Trailing 9-8 in the third set, an Emily Shuk attacking error tied the set at 9-9 before a kill from Sidney Gossard gave Denison their first lead of the frame.

Kills from Gossard, Tubbs, and first-year Natalie Hutras allowed the Big Red to carry a 14-13 advantage through the third set, but the Cardinals ended the night on a 12-4 scoring run to end the match and move to 5-0 on the season. Denison falls to 1-3 in 2019.

Eppard led all players with 11 kills and a .375 hit percentage. Julia Vermilion added nine kills while Ashlyn Leon chipped in nine digs. Carlie Craycraft led the match with 36 assists.

Denison received five kills from Lucy Anderson and Hutras tallied four and eight digs. Sophie Tight recorded 15 assists to lead the team.

The Big Red will return to action on Friday, Sept. 6 when they travel to Lansing, Mich. to take on Adrian College in the NCAC/MIAA Crossover Showcase. The match will begin at 5 p.m.